Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The a to Z of the Hong Kong SAR and the Macao SAR by
Call Number: DS 796 H757 Cha 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China is located on the southeastern coast of China, and the Macao SAR can be found off of China's southern coast. Both regions have recently been released from European colonial rule: Hong Kong from British control in 1997 and Macao from Portugal in 1999. As SARs, Hong Kong and Macao retain a high degree of autonomy, and they control all issues except those of state (e.g. diplomatic relations and national defense). The A to Z of the Hong Kong SAR and the Macao SAR includes maps, photographs, a list of acronyms, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important persons, places, and events as well as political, economic and social background. However, unlike the rest of the series, all these sections are presented in duplicate: one for Hong Kong and one for Macao. The authoritative analysis and informative data presented clearly elucidate the unique situation of these two territories.
The Bedford Glossary of European History by
Call Number: D 9 Joh 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Expanding upon the standard glossaries found in history survey textbooks, The Bedford Glossary for European History offers historically contextualized definitions for hundreds of terms -- from Abbasids to Zionism -- that students will encounter in lectures, reading, and exams.
Dictionary of American History by
Call Number: E 174 Dic 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
Historical Dictionary of Hong Kong and Macau by
Call Number: DS 796 H757 Rob 1992
Publication Date: 1992
In 1997 the British colony of Hong Kong reverted to the People's Republic of China after over 150 years under British control. Two years later, in 1999, the Portuguese-administered territory of Macau will be reunited with the mainland. How did these two c
Historical Dictionary of International Organizations in Asia and the Pacific by
Call Number: JZ 4850 McD
Publication Date: 2001
The first reference of its kind, this A-to-Z compendium emphasizes intergovernmental organizations, but includes entries relating to the policies of a number of states toward Asia- Pacific regionalism, as well as entries relating to links with other regions or regional entities, such as the European Union. To place the international organizations into the broader context of international politics, the author has also included some entries on major international developments in the Asia-Pacific region since 1945. The intergovernmental organizations can be grouped into four broad types: 1. Region-wide 2. Sub-regional 3. Universal with regional presence 4. Regional and sub-regional functional
Historical Dictionary of Portugal by
Call Number: DP 535 Whe 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The third edition of Historical Dictionary of Portugal greatly expands on the second edition through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important persons, places, events, and institutions, as well as on significant political, economic, social, and cultural aspects.
Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia by
Call Number: AE5 OXF V.3
Publication Date: 1988
What were the Beaker cultures? When did the Chola dynasty rule? Who were the Green Mountain boys? Did Hengist and Horsa really exist? This volume of the Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia provides the answers to anyone needing specific historical information for projects, exams, crossword puzzles, or just for the interest of finding things out. Featuring more than 2,400 alphabetized entries, this volume covers early civilizations, ancient Egypt, biblical times, the Greek and Roman empires, and the history of European affairs up through the medieval period to the enlightenment and the advent of the modern industrial age. In addition, the Encyclopedia illuminates the historical development of America, Japan, China, Africa, the Indian sub-continent, and Asia. Supported by numerous maps and diagrams, color and black and white photographs, and cross-references, this work, along with its companion volume, World History: from 1800 to the present day, is a valuable reference for use both at home or at school.
World History by
Call Number: D 9 Wet
Publication Date: 1994
A revision of the Concise Dictionary of World History (Macmillan, 1983), this volume includes more than 10,000 entries in a convenient A-to-Z arrangement. There are also 135 historical outlines or chronologies that contain another 7,000 items.
Call Number: DS 733 Chu
Publication Date: 2000
中國歷史大辭典 : 歷史地理 by
Call Number: DS 706.5 Tan 1996
Publication Date: 1996
中國歷史大辭典 (共12冊), 這套叢書還有 《中國歷史大辭典 史學史》,《中國歷史大辭典·清史（上）》,《中國歷史大辭典 先秦史》,《中國歷史大辭典.隋唐五代史卷》,《中國歷史大辭典--科技史》 等。
Call Number: DS 740.5 P6 Chi 2000
Publication Date: 2000