Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Guides (UM)

EndNote is a tool that allows you to collect bibliographic references and put them in the body of a paper and in a reference list in a desired citation format. In this guide, you'll learn how to use EndNote Desktop’s general functions.

Why my EndNote is a 30-days trial?

Q: Why my EndNote is a 30-days trial?

A: For Windows user, you have to unzip the downloaded .RAR file. See the instruction here.

Why there's no bibliographic information imported from a PDF?

Q: Why there's no bibliographic information imported from a PDF?

A: This is because there's no DOI on the PDF file. Or it's an image PDF. In this case, you may import the bibliographic record again from the database, or input the information manually.

What is the Find Full Text setting of UM?

Q: What is the Find Full Text setting of UM?

A: See the set up page here.

 

How to insert a footnote?

Q: How to insert a footnote?

A: See the instruction here.

How to create separate bibliographies to chapters?

Q: How to create separate bibliographies to chapters?

A: See the instruction here.

 

Shall I work on Cloud?

Q: Shall I work with the EndNote library (.enl) which is stored on Cloud drive?

A: No. It will cause error when inserting citation to your paper.

Can I extract references from a Word file to EndNote library?

Q: Can I extract Word's references to EndNote Library?

A: Yes. If your references are generated by MS Word. You can export references to EndNote library by clicking "Export to EndNote > Export Word Citations. See the page here (in Chinese).

Can I extract references from a PDF file to EndNote library?

Q: Can I extract references from a PDF to EndNote Library?

A: Yes. 

Steps:

1. Copy the references from the PDF file.

2. Go to https://citation-finder.vercel.app/ and paste each reference on a new line.

3. Choose "RIS" and verify the information.

4. Download the .ris and import to EndNote library.

Shall I keep those exported files?

Q: Shall I keep those exported files (*.ris, *.nbib, *.ciw, *.enw, *.txt)? 

A: No. After exported records to EndNote library, those files can be deleted.

Why can't I see the correct style?

       Q: Why can't I see the proper writing style in my paper?

       A: Please check the "Style" and "Instant Formatting is On or Off.

How do I open a compressed library?

Q: How do I open a compressed library? 

A: With EndNote desktop installed on your computer. Double click the compressed file(.enlx).

Can I have more writing styles?

Q: Can I have more writing styles?

A: Yes. You can download additional writing styles from endnote.com.