UM Library FAQ 澳大圖書館常見問題集

You will find books, periodicals, e-books, e-journals and audio-visual materials, as well as various resources retrieved from books and periodicals.

Books are arranged by call number in accordance with the Library of Congress Classification scheme.

Each book in the Library has an assigned call number. A call number is like an address. It tells us where the book is located on a bookshelf in the Library. Call number appears on the spine of books (i.e. PA 2133 Kla).

You could find the “Highlighted Collection” button below the search entry on the webpage of the Library. After clicking the “Highlighted Collection”, you could find the different categories of special collection in the Library. For details, you could visit: https://umlibrary.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=853UOM_INST:umlibrary

You need to fill out the form which is necessary to apply the materials of Special Collection for reading, and you could find this form from the "FORMS" on the webpage of the Library. After getting in the "FORMS" page, you could find the link of Special Collection Request Form on the list of the Reference Services.

Note: Special Collection only for UM users.

Zone A at the Ground Floor of the Library, close to the back entrance.

The Library Multimedia Collection is located at the Room 2025 of 2/F, and the working time is from Monday to Friday (except public holidays) 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m., 14:30 p.m.-17:30 p.m.

Unfortunately, the books in the Reading Area are not permitted to take out. But if you have not finished reading and want to keep the information for further reading, you could scan it or make copies in the Reading Area.

For emergency, you could find help from the security guard at the Library front entrance. If the security guard is not on site due to patrol, you can call 8822-4000 / 8822-4126 for help.

You may refer to this link for information: https://library.um.edu.mo/lib_services/publication_en

Please take a look at our webpage of “CONTACT US” at https://library.um.edu.mo/lib_info/contact_us_en

Firstly, the Library does not sell books, but there is a subscription service in the book store which is located next to the Library. Please go there for ordering books.

Our library encourages staff members and students to recommend books to the library. You could suggest the Library to purchase it through our Acquisition service (https://library.um.edu.mo/lib_services/acquisition_en).

There are two ways for recommendation:

1.Fill out the online suggestion form:

(https://umlibrary.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/purchaseRequest?vid=853UOM_INST:UMrecommend)

2.Email us at lib_acq@um.edu.mo (If you have more than 5 materials recommendations, it is suggested to send us by email)

The UM Library is open to the public. Outside users only need to present their identification documents (such as personal ID cards or passports) at the Security Counter of the Library to register and get access.

After having finished, the security personnel will give every registered user a one-time visitor card, with which those users can enter the library and must return it at the gate when leaving the Library.