DISCOVER YOUR LIBRARY: Home

Welcome to the University of Macau Library! As a freshman, you may be wondering how to make the most of the library to achieve your academic goals. Here are seven ways to help you succeed by using the library resources and services.

1.Get familiar with the UM Library website

https://library.um.edu.mo

The library website is your gateway to access a wealth of information. The UM Library is the largest library in Macau. At this moment, the Library holds a collection of over 16 million items, including:

You can also find useful guides, tutorials, and FAQs to help you with your learning, assignments and research.

 How can I login the library’s online databases?

(1) Open the library website and find the page of Resources then Databases;

(2) Find the database you need;

(3) Login with your account via UMPass.

2.Visit the library in person.

The UM Library is located at the heart of the campus, with a spacious and comfortable environment for learning and studying. You can explore the different zones and facilities of the library, such as the reading carrels, subject zones, information commons with printers, copiers, scanners and so on. You can borrow books, DVDs, laptops, group discussion rooms, and other materials from the service desks or the self-check kiosks.

The general books are located on the second to the fourth floors, which are organized according to their subjects into six subject zones as followings (with LC Classification Code):

• 2/F A: Philosophy, Religion, Psychology, Education and Arts (B, L-N)
• 2/F C: Language and Literature (P-PZ)
• 3/F A: Science and Medical Science (Q-V)
• 3/F C: History and Geography (C-G)
• 4/F A: Business Management (H-HG)
• 4/F C: Law and Public Administration (HJ-HX, J-K)

Useful information

OPENING HOURS

Monday - Sunday             08:00 - 24:00

*Closed on New Year’s Day & Lunar New Year.

COUNTER SERVICE HOURS

Monday to Friday             09:00 - 20:30

Saturday & Sunday          10:00 - 17:30

**Please refer to library’s webpage for the counter service hours during the Student Summer Recess.

The quota and period of borrowing general books for

• Undergraduate students: 20 books, 21 days
• Honors College students: 30 books, 21 days
• Master’s degree students: 40 books, 90 days
• PhD students: 60 books, 120 days

 Can I bring foods and drinks to the library?

Eating or drinking in the Library is not allowed. However, we understand that you may need water or snack during your long study, so light food and water in spill-proof container is okay, and please clean up if there is any waste.

3.Attend the library orientation and workshops.

The library offers orientation and workshops throughout the year to introduce you to the library resources and services, as well as to teach you essential skills for academic success, such as database workshop, information literacy, citation management, plagiarism prevention, etc. Please use your smart phone to scan the following QR code to check the library workshop page for the schedule and registration details.

Here are some examples of typical library workshops as followings,

• Achieving academic honesty with plagiarism prevention tools
• CEIC: Delivering critical insight on global markets through economic and alternative data
• Chinese Legal Resources Orientation
• CNKI Databases: Discovery and utilization of literature resources in Chinese
• Eikon Financial database Training
• Emerald insight: the secret to find good references for your research
• EU, UK and US Legal Resources Orientation
• Finding Legal Resources with Nexis Uni
• Managing your references using EndNote 21 Desktop
• Mastering Advanced Search Techniques in EBSCO Databases
• Maximizing Your Research Performance with Scopus and Scival : Essential Tips and Strategies for Proposal
• ProQuest Central: Quick access to the latest research resources
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global: The top1 theses and dissertations database in the world
• Qualtrics 101: A Guide to Creating Online Surveys
• SciFinder Discovery: help you speed up your research

 Where can I find the video recording or PPT of the past library workshop(s)?

Please scan the QR code to access the web page for the training resources.

4.Use Discovery Search

Discovery Search is a tool that allows you to search the library collections across the printed materials and hundreds of electronic databases by using a single search box. It is similar to a web search engine, but it is customized for the library resources and services to help you find the relevant and reliable sources for your assignments and research projects.

You may find this search box on library’s home page.

By using Discovery Search, you can

• Access to full-text articles, e-books, videos, and other types of materials that the library subscribes or owns;
• Refine your search results by using filters, such as publication date, peer-reviewed, subject, format, and more;
• Save you time and effort by searching across multiple databases and platforms at once;
• Manage your citations and references by using tools like EndNote.

For more information and tips on how to use Discovery Search effectively, please visit the library's online tutorials or ask a librarian for assistance.

How to find a journal of specific title?

You may search a journal by title or ISSN (the unique identifier of the journal) by clicking “Journal Search” of the search box on library’s home page.

5.Join the library events and activities.

The UM Library organizes various events and activities throughout the year to enrich your learning experience and foster a culture of reading and discovery. You can participate in book talks, exhibitions, contests, quizzes, movie screenings, and more.

You can also follow us on social media to stay updated on the latest news and happenings of the library.

6. Ask your librarian!

The reference librarians are information professionals and they are happy to assist you with finding information, using databases, evaluating sources, citing references, and more. If you have any questions or problems related to the library or your research, you can always ask a librarian for help. You can contact us in person at the reference desk, or via

• Phone : +853 - 8822 8170
• Email : lib_ref@um.edu.mo
• Leave a message to us via WeChat or WhatsApp

Can I borrow a book from the other library?

The students and staff of University of Macau can use MALA Hub by scanning the QR code on the right, to search the collections from the nine academic libraries in Macau for book loan and article request.

7.Give us your feedback and suggestions.

We value your feedback and suggestions on how to improve our library resources and services. You can fill out an online library satisfaction survey by scanning the QR code, send us an email, or leave a comment on our suggestion box. Your input will help us to serve you better.

EMAILS & PHONE NUMBER YOU MAY NEED

• Suggestion: lib_suggestion@um.edu.mo
• Reference Counter: +853- 8822 8170; lib_ref@um.edu.mo
• Circulation Counter: +853- 8822 8160; lib_circ@um.edu.mo
• Library I.T. Services Counter: +853- 8822 8180; lib_sit@um.edu.mo
• Security Centre: +853- 8822 4126

 Can I suggest the library to buy a book?

We encourage faculty, undergraduate or graduate students and staff members to make suggestions for book additions to the library's collection.

You may make your suggestion through,

• Fill out the online suggestion form by scanning the QR code
• Email us at lib_acq@um.edu.mo (recommended if more than 5 materials at one time)

Note: Normally we will not accept recommended items which are already held by the Library. You may request to hold the item for you and send you an email notification when the item is available.

For enquiries, please contact Technical Process Unit at (853) 88228167 or e-mail at lib_acq@um.edu.mo

We hope that these seven ways will help you to make the best use of the library and achieve your academic success. Remember that we are here to support you throughout your college journey.

Look forward to seeing you at the library soon!