Law: Encyclopedia & Dictionary

Building Law Encyclopaedia is a concise and authoritative reference, providing information in reasonable depth on an extensive number of legal terms, principles, phrases and issues that are commonly encountered in the construction industry. Most standard contracts are referred to, including the current suite of JCT Contracts, SBC, IC, ICD, MW, MWD, as well as ACA, PPC 2000, GC/Works/1 and NEC. In addition, some contracts which are theoretically out of date, but which are still in common use, are also covered. With over 1050 entries and numerous cross references, it will be an invaluable reference for architects, quantity surveyors, project managers and contractors. With detailed reference to appropriate case law and legislation, construction lawyers will also find it of considerable value in the course of their work.

O presente trabalho pretende preencher uma lacuna no panorama editorial português, em matéria de contencioso administrativo, visando fornecer um quadro geral dos institutos específicos do direito processual administrativo, bem como dos institutos de processo civil que carecem de ser frequentemente integrados e adaptados no regime processual das diversas espécies de acções administrativas. A obra é apresentada sob a forma de dicionário e organizada por ordem alfabética de descritores, com desdobramento em cada verbete das diversas questões que poderão suscitar-se relativamente ao tema que é tratado, o que também permitiu utilizar um sistema de remissões em que estas, sempre que possível, são efectuadas para o item do tema mais geral em que a questão remetida é especificamente analisada.

CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"A welcome addition to any public or academic library, this set would also be of use in a law library where educational law might need to be explored and reviewed at a more basic level than other legal texts."-Sara Rofofsky Marcus, Queensborough Community Coll., Bayside, NY"Smaller educational legal summaries exist, and a couple of texts deal with Supreme Court cases about education, but this set provides a unique combination of general educational legal issues and case-specific information. It should be a welcome addition to academic and large public libraries. Also available as an ebook."- BooklistThe Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following:Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviewsConstitutional issuesKey concepts, theories, and legal principlesKey statutesTreaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights)Curricular issuesEducational equityGovernanceRights of students and teachersTechnologyBiographiesOrganizationsIn addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the U.S. legal system.

The Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education is a compendium of information that tells the story of law and higher education from a variety of perspectives. As many of the entries in this encyclopedia reflect, the editor and contributors have sought to place legal issues in perspective so that students of higher education and the law can inform policy makers and practitioners about the meaning and status of the law and also raise questions for future research as they seek to improve the quality of learning for all.Key FeaturesIncludes boxed excerpts from 30 key cases in tandem with their related case entriesProvides educators with enough awareness of the legal dimensions of given situations to enable them to better frame questions for their attorneys to answerAddresses emerging technologies such as webcams, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube and the challenges they create for both legislators and the judiciaryBalances the tension between the proactive and reactive dimensions of education lawKey ThemesCases in Higher Education LawConcepts, Theories, and Legal PrinciplesConstitutional Rights and IssuesFaculty RightsGovernance and FinanceOrganizations and InstitutionsPrimary Sources: Excerpts From Landmark U.S. Supreme Court CasesReligion and Freedom of SpeechStatutesStudent Rights and WelfareTechnology

The U.S. Constitution established a federated republic in the United States, which was structured according to a separation of powers - executive, legislative, and judicial - each with its own specific duties and powers. In more than 700 entries, ""Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution"" contains all the material high school students need to understand the United States Constitution. This new two-volume A-to-Z set covers the people, court cases, historical events, and terms relating to one of the most studied political documents in schools across the country. Appendix material includes the U.S. Constitution and other government documents. Entries of this title include: affirmative action; capital punishment; citizenship; confirmation process; cruel and unusual punishment; double jeopardy; eleventh amendment; fourth amendment; freedom of the press; gun control; impeachment; jury nullification; national security; planned parenthood v. Casey; presidential immunity; privacy; property rights; religion and free speech; same-sex marriage; school choice; state action; terrorism control; war powers; workplace harassment; and many more.

The "Gale Encyclopedia, of Everyday Law fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing approximately 200 articles, the "Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state; and comprehensive bibliographies, including print and Web resources and lists of relevant organizations.

The peer-reviewed monographs of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IELs), hundreds of which are currently available and many more projected, provide practical information and valuable insights into both national and international legal frameworks in 25 practice areas, written by over 1,200 leading experts from all over the world. Academics and practitioners who handle transnational matters will greatly appreciate each monograph’s clear explanation of distinct terminology and application of rules.

This is the third of three self-contained volumes, making up the Oxford Encyclopaedia of EC Law, a major reference work on the law of the European Community/Union. The first of its kind in any language, it provides an authoritative guide to the interpretation of Community law. The first volumecovered Institutional Law, and the second the Law of the Internal Market. This final volume focuses on competition law and policy, with separate entries devoted to competition law in specific business sectors, and other significant areas of competition law, such as exclusive agreements, mergercontrol, state aid, and vertical agreements. A new edition of the volume of the Encyclopaedia covering Institutional Law (first published 1991) will be produced once the fate of the European Constitution has been decided.The entries are arranged alphabetically, and each entry begins with a short definition of a term or concept, followed by a longer and more detailed explanation. The definitions and explanations are based on the Treaties and the legal acts of the institutions (secondary legislation), as interpretedin the extensive case-law of the European Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance, to which full references are made in the text. The book is thoroughly cross-referenced, and each entry is followed by a reading list to facilitate further research. The volume thus contains a comprehensiveand detailed coverage of its subject, reflecting the authoritative interpretation of Community law by the Community Courts.There is a full list of entries at the beginning of the volume guiding the reader to the relevant term or concept, making the book easily accessible. There are comprehensive tables of cases, Treaties, international agreements and secondary legislation, plus an Index to the entire volume.Prepared by a team of experts in the field of EC/EU law and competition law and policy, the volume will serve both as a reliable tool for practitioners looking for an authoritative and up-to-date explanation of a subject supported by an extensive citation of cases, and as a starting-point foradvanced students or academics wishing to carry out further research in this area of the law.

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is a comprehensive, international, interdisciplinary reference work that includes approximately 1,000 articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law,and constitutional/higher law throughout the world and are written and signed by one of the many noteworthy contributors, which include major scholars and experts.For years, scholars have been investigating the remote origins of their respective national and religious law. Only recently has there been a developing interest in and study of the history of law in modern times. This encyclopedia will bring together the study of ancient law with the study ofmodern law-examining statutes and administrative rulings as well as judicial decisions, legislatures, agencies, and courts.The Encyclopedia will cover ancient, medieval, early modern, and modern law in eight legal traditions and geographical/cultural areas: Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, Medieval Roman Law, United States Law, and law in other regions (Africa, LatinAmerica, and South Asia among them). It will address major categories of law within these traditions, including private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), varieties of public law (criminal law, administrative law, statutory law), and higher law/ constitutional law. It will be the firstencyclopedia of law to provide historical and contemporary comparisons of world legal systems.

entries For nearly thirty-five years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive informationon international law. This book will also be available online as an e-reference on the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf.Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries (an over 20% increasein content over the previous edition) provides the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as:* Legal terms as used in international law* Significant doctrines* Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration* Important incidents* Judicial and literary figures* Treaties and conventions* Organizations and institutions* Acronyms

This set of volumes aims to provide easy-to-understand information on law in America. The books show data on 5,000 legal topics, biographies of interesting and influential people who have played a part in shaping US law, and definitions of legal terms.